Reviews

Here is a selection of verified reviews from Stayz, Tripadvisor and Easy Weddings websites.
See more reviews on Stayz, TripAdvisor and Easy Weddings.

js_loader
Family

If you’re thinking of getting married at Barefoot, don’t hesitate. We had an intimate wedding with 17 guests. Half of us stayed at Barefoot and the other half at a neighbouring property. We spent 4 days relaxing by the pool, going on beach walks, hikes and hopping into Byron. Our wedding was onsite at Barefoot half way through our stay. We had our ceremony in the garden, followed by the reception catered by their in-house chefs and bar staff. They setup a long table on the deck. The food was exceptional. Bar staff were friendly. Everything was easy and relaxing - which is exactly what we wanted. The wedding coordinator - Frances - is lovely. I couldn’t recommend this place any higher.

Kathryn Heinrich
Oct 10, 2023
A True Gem

We stayed and got married here in November 2019, and we have nothing to say but WOW! This place is beyond fantastic – a true gem. The location is picture perfect, there is plenty of space for family to be far enough apart but still gather together, and the beach is literally a stones throw away.
On top of that, the owner is extremely accommodating and the property manager Fran goes above and beyond the call of duty. We couldn’t have asked for a nicer person!
If you are thinking about booking Barefoot for your wedding or even just to stay, we highly recommend it – it’ll not only make your jaws drop in awe, but also your guests.

Justin McGee
May 23, 2023
Gorgeous Property

We had the most wonderful holiday in your gorgeous property. Thank you. We rode bikes on the beach; we were woken by birds in the morning, went and watched the sunrise, and then went back to bed (bliss); we chased the sun from room to room like cats; and we slept deeply. We saw dawn on Anzac Day from Broken Head, and I will remember that always. I would go back in a heartbeat

Catherine Friday
June 12, 2023
Seamless

We booked our wedding at Barefoot at Broken Head, as well as stayed there for a week with family and friends to continue our celebrations.
The venue is stunning, in a great location with fantastic amenities.
Liaising with Tim to book the venue was seamless, and Tim was very accommodating with our change of dates due to the lock downs in 2021.
Fran was a pleasure to work with in organising our wedding, liaising with suppliers and coordinating everything on the day.
Looking forward to staying there again, and would not hesitate to recommend Barefoot for a small intimate wedding or celebration.

Olivia Blackburn
May 15, 2023
A very special place

We had a fantastic week at Barefoot – it is a very special place. The weather for four of the days was ideal and even though it rained a little on the Thursday it did provide a different but enjoyable experience. The facilities were top class and the lap pool and the reading pool provided hours of fun. The beach bikes and boards were well used.
Frances’ meet and greet was warm and friendly and set the mood for the week. Her set up of the sleeping arrangements was perfect and all family members had plenty of space.
Andres and Franco from A chef’s pocket gave us a very enjoyable and delicious dinner.
The whole experience will give the family a lifetime memory.

Terry Bruun
June 3, 2023
It's better than everything

Picture the apocalypse; I’m talking, a rainy, muddy, freezing post Splendour in the Grass 4 hour bus line – the literal pits. Now picture the complete opposite; that is this place. A warm, cosy, secluded, forested, paradisical refuge. You want a healing hung over coffee and fresh treat from the nearby (epic) bakery? You got it. You want to interact with no one while you lounge in the pool lounge ledger? You got it. You want to cool off in the pool after a hard day of lounging? You got it. You want to soak in the tub under the stars? You got it. Can you play the piano? Me either, but this place has one. We stayed a few wonderful nights in the thick of winter and had our own private oasis among the trees and away from the chaos of Splendour-riddled Byron Bay. Secluded enough that you feel totally at peace, but close enough to the beach and coffee that you don’t feel too far from the creature comforts of home. Except that this place is way better than your home (if it’s not, how is that even possible? Do you own a tropical island?), it’s better than everything. 11/10, would recommend.

Meg Lamb
June 3, 2023
It was perfect

We didn’t know exactly the type of wedding we wanted until we found barefoot online, and it was perfect!

Frances was incredibly helpful in organising everything for us, and we had everything we needed in one place on the day, with a garden ceremony straight into reception, and stunning photos on the beach.
Staying in the villa with our families and bridal party was also extra special.

All our friends loved the wedding, and some have tried to imitate for their own.
Couldn’t recommend more!

Paul Holmes
May 1, 2023
The house is absolutely stunning

We booked 5 days at Barefoot for our intimate Broken Head wedding and it was everything we wished for and more!
Firstly, the house is absolutely STUNNING! The open, indoor/outdoor living is so relaxing and dreamy. We had 9 adults and 2 children in the house and never felt on top of each other. The space is so well designed that there is always space to get away and have some quiet, private time away from the other guests but also large communal areas to gather and socialise.
Secondly, the location! I think Broken Head speaks for itself with how beautiful the location is! A short walk down a private footpath from the house to a wide stretch beach that was so quiet that it felt like our own private beach! From the beach and from the road, you wouldn’t even know the house was there. It is so private, yet so close to town if needed. The gardens of the house were just as beautiful, sitting on the back deck and the day bed of the honeymoon suite, listening to the waves of the ocean and the birds in the trees was just absolute bliss!
Lastly, Frances – the house manager. So friendly and helpful! Frances held my hand through-out the whole wedding planning period. Answering my silly questions and basically planned the whole run of the day for me! She understood our dreams of a minimalist, intimate wedding and made it work! She was there the day of the ceremony helping to set up and helping to organise the day – way more than she responsible for!
Thank you for your knowledge and help Fran, you are a credit to Barefoot!
I would definitely recommend Barefoot for a wedding destination or even just a get away with friends and/or family – we will definitely back!!

Tammy Bond
May 1, 2023
Feels like paradise

I have stayed in many airbnbs all over the world and Barefoot at Broken Heads tops them all. The home is very unique, Bali-style open plan living with gorgeous lush manicured gardens. Truly feels like paradise there with a private path to a secluded beach. Pictures do not do the place justice. Each bedroom it’s own structure giving us all separation with an open air living room in the middle. The home is luxurious, I appreciate the nice linens and a fully stocked kitchen which can be rare on airbnb – everything we needed as we do lots of cooking. The house is only a 3 minute drive from a little town with shops to get what we needed and less than 10 mins to Byron Bay! The service Tim provides is also exceptional. He accommodated us for an VERY early check in, was easy to communicate with and even organized change of bed linens as we had guests change over. He suggested activities, has bikes and boards at the house for use. Cannot recommend this enough and can’t wait to rent again!

Banjoe Farms
Feb 11, 2023
We will never forget your amazing hospitality

Tim and Frances are absolute GEMS, the booking process was smooth, the preparation for our stay was fantastic. The house itself has BLOWN us away…. the location is wonderful, the gardens a tranquil retreat, we loved that with all the pavilions we were able to escape the noise of the family when needed, but also able to gather comfortably in the large kitchen and lounge. We had 8 adults and 4 kids with every creature comfort we could need.
The best part of this amazing property is Frances, we held our wedding ceremony on the beach and our reception dinner on the back deck. Every step of the way Frances held my hand through the planning and went above and beyond to make our day smooth sailing. From arranging flowers on our arbour in the wind, to shedding a tear as we had our first dance in the garden, Frances was such a huge part of our day. We will never forget your amazing hospitality. We look forward to sharing this special place with family and friends in years to come.
Tim if you ever do decide to part ways with this gem, make sure the new owners continue to share it as you do, it is a delightful part of the world, it is so great you share this with everyone.

Harmony Eather
October 27, 2022
© 2023 Barefoot at Broken Head.
All rights reserved.
Website Design & Development by Local Nerd Sydney